Phone: (316) 684-5500 Email: [email protected]
  • Achieving Optimal Health
    In A Complex Environment
  • Expanding the Knowledge of Interactions
    Between Humans and the Environment

Join us for our 2021 Spring Meeting

To Be Announced December 1, 2020

Gary Oberg
(1946 - 2020)

Dr. Gary Oberg's family has requested, in lieu of flowers, that donations to the American Academy of Environmental Medicine be made in his name to provide scholarships to medical students interested in pursuing a career in the practice of integrative medicine. All donations are tax deductible.

Donate Here

AAEM Physician Referral

The American Academy of Environmental Medicine (AAEM)

The American Academy of Environmental Medicine (AAEM) was founded in 1965 by a group of Board certified allergists who banded together and formed a medical society that has evolved into the American Academy of Environmental Medicine. The AAEM is an international organization representing physicians who specialize in Environmental Medicine. The AAEM is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education and provides American Medical Association Physician Recognition Award Category 1 CreditsTM. AAEM physicians have earned a recognized MD or DO degree by an accredited medical school in the United States, Canada or other countries and maintain current licensure to practice medicine. Most AAEM physician members are board certified by one or more of the 24 medical specialty boards of the American Board of Medical Specialties.

Our Mission

The mission of the American Academy of Environmental Medicine is to promote optimal health through prevention, and safe and effective treatment of the causes of illness by supporting physicians and other professionals in serving the public through education about the interaction between humans and their environment.


The Fellowship process is designed to help prepare physicians to honorably promote, practice and defend the ideals of the American Academy of Environmental Medicine. To receive the designation of Fellow a three-year pathway involving specified training, competent clinical application, and both written and oral examinations must be successfully completed. The MD or DO must finally be nominated and voted in by the AAEM membership as an indication of recognition by physician peers.


Jonathan Forman- for who in the opinion of the Academy has made an outstanding contribution to the field of Environmental Medicine.

Herbert J. Rinkel- for exellence in teaching the techniques of Environmental Medicine.

Carlton Lee- in recognition of exemplary efforts in furthering the principles of Environmental Medicine.